Improved Animal Health in Karamoja, Teso and Sebei as Reported by the Regional Pastoral Livelihoods Resilience Project

Entebbe, 24th June 2020. Through the Regional Pastoral Livelihoods Resilience Project, infrastructure for improving animal health has been constructed in the districts in the sub-regions of Karamoja, Teso and Sebei.

A total of 60 cattle crushes have been constructed with an aim of improving the response to animal disease outbreaks in the region, with equipment commissioned by Hon. Vincent Bamulangaki Ssempijja the Minister for Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries on the the 16th of May 2018.

Hon. Vincent Bamulangaki Ssempijja the Minister for Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries addressing the media at the commission in Entebbe on the 16th of May 2018.

Livestock owners in the manyattas and kraals use project facilities for regular vaccination and treatment of their herds. The project has influenced a significant decline in the livestock death rate from 0.5 to 0.077 of livestock (cattle) in the project area since 2015 when baseline was done. This is attributed to continuous interventions by the project in the livestock health services and systems.

There is improvement in cross border vaccinations against PPR, FMD and CBPP, disease surveillance and immediate reporting. Where disease is reported, there has been quick response to quarantine the movement of animals from one district to another and beyond. This decline in deaths of livestock has helped the communities register an increase in the numbers of livestock they own.

Other project interventions

The project in its 4th year of implementation, has put in place different interventions targeting 42,000 households among the pastoral and agro pastoral communities in the 12 project districts of Abim, Amudat, Amuria, Bukedde, Kaabong, Katakwi, Kotido, Kumi, Kween, Moroto, and Nakapiripirit. With the completion of 72 boreholes under the project, there has been an increase in water accessibility by targeted households. This has led to an increase in the number of beneficiaries by 8.57% from 2018 to date.

The photos below show the current status of the rehabilitated Rangeland in Rengen Sub County, Kotido District where the project beneficiaries are benefiting from access to improved pastures.

Water for Livestock and Other Agricultural Production Activities

Access to water in these areas determines migration patterns, but many reserves evaporate or become silted during the dry season. Under the RPLRP, water infrastructure along cross-border migration routes have been rehabilitated and new ones structures are being constructed. Currently the works on the individual water works, in addition to 72 boreholes out of 89 completed in 2019, are as shown in the table below:

Notes for Editors

About the Regional Pastoral Livlihood Resilience Project

Livelihood systems in the drought-prone arid lands of the Horn of Africa (HoA) have been under-resourced, leaving their population more vulnerable to external stressors. Over the last decade, droughts of varying intensity and increasing frequency have hit the HoA. These perennial drought crises have severely impoverished the natural resource base of the Arid and Semi Arid Lands (ASALs), rendering pastoralists’ traditional livelihoods throughout the HoA increasingly tenuous. Climate change will likely worsen and intensify the frequency and magnitude of droughts and floods in the region.

The Regional Pastoral Livelihoods Resilience Project (RPLRP) is to be implemented, over a five year period, by the Government of Uganda (GoU) through the Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries (MAAIF). The project is supported by the International Development Association (IDA) of the World Bank.

Notes for editors

About the Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries (MAAIF)

The Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries is a Ministry in the Government of Uganda charged with creating an enabling environment in the Agricultural Sector.

The Ministry formulates, reviews and implement national policies, plans, strategies, regulations and standards and enforce laws, regulations and standards along the value chain of crops, livestock and fisheries.

Vision: A competitive, profitable and sustainable agricultural sector.

Mission: To transform subsistence farming to commercial agriculture.

Strategic Objectives

  • To initiate the formulation and review of the policy and legal framework for the sector
  • To establish and implement systems for service provision in the sector
  • To strengthen and implement strategies, regulatory framework, standards, institutional structures and infrastructure for quality assurance and increased quantities of agricultural products to access and sustain local, regional and export markets
  • To design and implement sustainable capacity building programmes for stakeholders in the agricultural sector through training, re-tooling, infrastructure, provision of logistics and ICT
  • To develop strategies for sustainable food security
  • To develop appropriate agricultural technologies for improved agricultural production, productivity and value addition through research
  • To develop effective collaborative mechanisms with affiliated institutions and
  • To take lead and establish a system and institutional framework for agricultural data collection, analyses, storage and dissemination to stakeholders including Uganda Bureau of Statistics.

The Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries (MAAIF) is made up of four Directorates including the Directorate of Crop Resources, Directorate of Animal Resources, Directorate of Agricultural Extension Services and the Directorate of Fisheries Resources each with Departments, Divisions and Partnership Projects.

The Departments of the Ministry which do not fall directly in the above include the Department of Agricultural Planning and Development, the Human Resource Department, the Department of Finance and Administration and the Department of Agricultural Infrastructure, Mechanisation and Water for Agricultural Production.

The Ministry is also made up of seven Agencies including the National Agricultural Research Organisation (NARO), the National Agricultural Advisory Services (NAADS), Cotton Development Organisation (CDO), Dairy Development Authority (DDA), Uganda Coffee Development Authority (UCDA) and Coordinating Office for the Control of Trypanosomiasis in Uganda (COCTU) and the National Animal Genetic Resources Centre and Databank (NAGRC&DB).

Leave a Comment