Ongoing launch of Matching Grant Facility Infrastructure under the Agriculture Cluster Development Project

For the Ministry’s Agriculture Cluster Development Project, Hon. Aggrey Bagiire the Minister of State for Agriculture and Hon. Bright Rwamirama the Minister of State for Animal Industry have launched Matching Grant infrastructure and commissioned works on farm access roads in the clusters.

Minister of State for Agriculture, Hon Bagiire launching Matching Grant infrastructure & commissioning works on farm access road chokes.

Launching the construction site for storage and installation of a rice mill and accessories in Bwobonam “B” village, Bwobonam parish, sub county in Nwoya district.
Hon. Bright Rwamirama Minister of State for Animal Industry also launched ACDP matching grants infrastructure for 9 farmer cooperatives & commissioned works for 7 farm access road chokes in Ntungamo district

Launch of construction of storage facility at Rukuuba parish, Masha S/county, Isingiro district. Officiated by the Hon. Minister of State for Animal Industry and the Director Extension

Notes for editors

About the Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries (MAAIF)

The Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries is a Ministry in the Government of Uganda charged with creating an enabling environment in the Agricultural Sector.

The Ministry formulates, reviews and implement national policies, plans, strategies, regulations and standards and enforce laws, regulations and standards along the value chain of crops, livestock and fisheries.

Vision: A competitive, profitable and sustainable agricultural sector.

Mission: To transform subsistence farming to commercial agriculture.

Strategic Objectives

  • To initiate the formulation and review of the policy and legal framework for the sector
  • To establish and implement systems for service provision in the sector
  • To strengthen and implement strategies, regulatory framework, standards, institutional structures and infrastructure for quality assurance and increased quantities of agricultural products to access and sustain local, regional and export markets
  • To design and implement sustainable capacity building programmes for stakeholders in the agricultural sector through training, re-tooling, infrastructure, provision of logistics and ICT
  • To develop strategies for sustainable food security
  • To develop appropriate agricultural technologies for improved agricultural production, productivity and value addition through research
  • To develop effective collaborative mechanisms with affiliated institutions and
  • To take lead and establish a system and institutional framework for agricultural data collection, analyses, storage and dissemination to stakeholders including Uganda Bureau of Statistics.

The Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries (MAAIF) is made up of four Directorates including the Directorate of Crop Resources, Directorate of Animal Resources, Directorate of Agricultural Extension Services and the Directorate of Fisheries Resources each with Departments, Divisions and Partnership Projects.

The Departments of the Ministry which do not fall directly in the above include the Department of Agricultural Planning and Development, the Human Resource Department, the Department of Finance and Administration and the Department of Agricultural Infrastructure, Mechanisation and Water for Agricultural Production.

The Ministry is also made up of seven Agencies including the National Agricultural Research Organisation (NARO), the National Agricultural Advisory Services (NAADS), Cotton Development Organisation (CDO), Dairy Development Authority (DDA), Uganda Coffee Development Authority (UCDA) and Coordinating Office for the Control of Trypanosomiasis in Uganda (COCTU) and the National Animal Genetic Resources Centre and Databank (NAGRC&DB).

Leave a Comment