Launch of the e-voucher system of the Agriculture Cluster Development Project

Above: Hon. Vincent Bamulangaki Sempijja the Minister for Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries  addressing participants at the launch of the e-voucher system at Bulakati Grounds in Lukaya sub-county.

The official launch of the e-voucher system was marked by the handover of inputs to the first farmer to be registered on the system and five motor vehicles to the 5 districts where the system is to be piloted.

The five districts include Kalungu, Nebbi, Amuru, Ntungamo and Iganga.

While speaking at the launch, Hon. Christopher Kibanzanga the State Minister for Agriculture pointed out the e-voucher system as one of the major steps that government has taken to date to modernise agriculture.

The launch was also attended by Members of the Parliamentary Committee on Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries and the Parliamentary Committee for National Economy.

Notes for editors

Below are additional details for editors.

About the Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries (MAAIF)

The Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries is a Ministry in the Government of Uganda charged with creating an enabling environment in the Agricultural Sector.

The Ministry formulates, reviews and implement national policies, plans, strategies, regulations and standards and enforce laws, regulations and standards along the value chain of crops, livestock and fisheries.

Vision: A competitive, profitable and sustainable agricultural sector.

Mission: To transform subsistence farming to commercial agriculture.

See strategic objectives here.

See Agriculture Sector Strategic Plan here.

The Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries (MAAIF) is made up of four Directorates including the Directorate of Crop Resources, Directorate of Animal Resources, Directorate of Agricultural Extension Services and the Directorate of Fisheries Resources each with Departments, Divisions and Partnership Projects.

The Departments of the Ministry which do not fall directly in the above include the Department of Agricultural Planning and Development, the Human Resource Department, the Department of Finance and Administration and the Department of Agricultural Infrastructure, Mechanisation and Water for Agricultural Production.

The Ministry is also made up of seven Agencies including the National Agricultural Research Organisation (NARO), the National Agricultural Advisory Services (NAADS), Cotton Development Organisation (CDO), Dairy Development Authority (DDA), Uganda Coffee Development Authority (UCDA) and Coordinating Office for the Control of Trypanosomiasis in Uganda (COCTU) and the National Animal Genetic Resources Centre and Databank (NAGRC&DB).

About the Agriculture Cluster Development Project (ACDP)/ more details here

The Agriculture Cluster Development Project is a 6-year partnership project under the Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries supported by the World Bank.

The project was fully-instituted in the Ministry on the 23rd of January 2017 with an overall objective “To raise on-farm productivity, production, and marketable volumes of selected agricultural commodities in specified geographical clusters.”

This came after the approval by the Parliament of Uganda on the 15th of September 2016 that followed the signing of the financing agreement on the 26th of September 2016.

The commodities that were selected are five and include Coffee, Rice, Beans, Cassava and Maize.

The project was designed along the following components as channels for achieving increased production and productivity of the 5 priority crops in 42 districts in Uganda.

The first component is “Support for Intensification of On-Farm Production”

the second is “Value Addition and Market Access” the third is “Policy, Regulatory and Institutional Support” and

Component number four is “Coordination, Management and ICT Platforms.”

The beneficiaries include 450,000 famers that are drawn from approximately 300 Area-based Commodity Cooperative Enterprises representing about 3,000 Rural Producer Organizations.

While the total investment by the World Bank in ACDP is 150 million US Dollars, the total contribution from the Government of Uganda through the Matching Grant Scheme and the farmers through purchase of the agro-inputs is 28 million US Dollars and 70 million US Dollars respectively.

This contribution by the three main stakeholders is in 42 districts that are also classified in 12 clusters depending on the 5 priority crops.

The implementation of this project is done through inter-ministerial collaboration with the Ministry of Trade Industry and Cooperatives, the Ministry of Works and Transport, the Ministry of Water and Environment, the Ministry of Local Government, the Ministry of ICT, the Finance Ministry and the Ministry of Gender, Labour and Social Development. These are represented on the Inter-ministerial Project Steering Committee.