MAAIF Collaboration with other Line Ministries and Agencies registers success in removal of Floating Island at Nalubaale Power Station

Jinja, 19th April 2020. Good news coming out of the Nalubaale Power Station indicates that the joint work between the Ministry of Agriculture Animal Industry and Fisheries through the Fisheries Directorate, teams from the UPDF, Ministry of Energy, Ministry of Water, UNRA and ESKOM Uganda has so far displaced the island closer to the shores.

The partners, joined in evaluation by His Excellency President Yoweri Museveni on Sunday, are assembling equipment to dismantle and dispose of the island.

The Ministry team is led by Hon. Hellen Adoa the Minister of State for Fisheries, Dr. Edward Rukunya the Director for Fisheries Resources and Dr. Winnie Nkalubo the Director of Research at the National Fisheries Research Institute (NaFIRRI).

Hon. Hellen Adoa the Minister of State for Fisheries chaired a joint meeting of experts and inspected Ministry equipment in use for removal of the floating island.

The role of the technical teams as deployed by Mr. Pius Wakabi Kasajja the Permanent Secretary is to provide technical expertise and equipment used elsewhere to deal with such disturbances in areas with Fisheries Resource and activities.

The supportive role of the Ministry is in form of:

1) 3 Long arm (17m) excavators
2) 2 Barges
3) 1 Ferry
4) 1 Hydraulic crane
5) 3 Self loading trucks (20ton)
6) 4 Dump trucks (20ton) and
7) 1 Bull dozer for clearing staging area.

The Ministry’s supportive role is informed by the mandate over water bodies and capacity in the form of both expertise and equipment acquired through the Egypt-Uganda partnership that cleared similar disturbances on Lake Kyoga.

Notes for editors

About the Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries (MAAIF)

The Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries is a Ministry in the Government of Uganda charged with creating an enabling environment in the Agricultural Sector.

The Ministry formulates, reviews and implement national policies, plans, strategies, regulations and standards and enforce laws, regulations and standards along the value chain of crops, livestock and fisheries.

Vision: A competitive, profitable and sustainable agricultural sector.

Mission: To transform subsistence farming to commercial agriculture.

Strategic Objectives

  • To initiate the formulation and review of the policy and legal framework for the sector
  • To establish and implement systems for service provision in the sector
  • To strengthen and implement strategies, regulatory framework, standards, institutional structures and infrastructure for quality assurance and increased quantities of agricultural products to access and sustain local, regional and export markets
  • To design and implement sustainable capacity building programmes for stakeholders in the agricultural sector through training, re-tooling, infrastructure, provision of logistics and ICT
  • To develop strategies for sustainable food security
  • To develop appropriate agricultural technologies for improved agricultural production, productivity and value addition through research
  • To develop effective collaborative mechanisms with affiliated institutions and
  • To take lead and establish a system and institutional framework for agricultural data collection, analyses, storage and dissemination to stakeholders including Uganda Bureau of Statistics.

The Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries (MAAIF) is made up of four Directorates including the Directorate of Crop Resources, Directorate of Animal Resources, Directorate of Agricultural Extension Services and the Directorate of Fisheries Resources each with Departments, Divisions and Partnership Projects.

The Departments of the Ministry which do not fall directly in the above include the Department of Agricultural Planning and Development, the Human Resource Department, the Department of Finance and Administration and the Department of Agricultural Infrastructure, Mechanisation and Water for Agricultural Production.

The Ministry is also made up of seven Agencies including the National Agricultural Research Organisation (NARO), the National Agricultural Advisory Services (NAADS), Cotton Development Organisation (CDO), Dairy Development Authority (DDA), Uganda Coffee Development Authority (UCDA) and Coordinating Office for the Control of Trypanosomiasis in Uganda (COCTU) and the National Animal Genetic Resources Centre and Databank (NAGRC&DB).