Recently Appointed Ministers Welcomed to the Ministry of Agriculture Animal Industry and Fisheries

Entebbe, 6th January 2020. The Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries has officially welcomed the recently appointed Ministers who include Hon. Aggrey Bagire the State Minister for Agriculture, Hon. Adoa Hellen the State Minister for Fisheries and Hon. Bright Rwamirama the State Minister for Animal Industry.

The Ministers who were transferred in the same reshuffle by His Excellency the President have officially handed over office today.

They include Hon. Christopher Kibanzanga who was serving as State Minister for Agriculture and Hon. Joy Kabatsi who was serving as State Minister Animal Industry and the respective sub-sector reports have been handed over at this convention chaired by Mr. Pius Wakabi Kasajja the MAAIF Permanent Secretary.

A summary of respective sub-sector reports has been presented to the meeting and representatives of the media fraternity by Hon. Vincent Bamulangaki Ssempijja the Minister for Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries.

The new Minister of State for Animal Industry is Hon. Bright Rwamirama (Left) who now replaces Hon. Joy Kabatsi (Right).

The new Minister of State for Agriculture is Hon. Aggrey Bagiire (Right) who now replaces Hon. Christopher Kibanzanga (Left).

Above: Hon. Hellen Adoa (Centre) will be serving as the Minister of State for Fisheries.

Notes for editors

About the Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries (MAAIF)

The Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries is a Ministry in the Government of Uganda charged with creating an enabling environment in the Agricultural Sector.

The Ministry formulates, reviews and implement national policies, plans, strategies, regulations and standards and enforce laws, regulations and standards along the value chain of crops, livestock and fisheries.

Vision: A competitive, profitable and sustainable agricultural sector.

Mission: To transform subsistence farming to commercial agriculture.

Strategic Objectives

  • To initiate the formulation and review of the policy and legal framework for the sector
  • To establish and implement systems for service provision in the sector
  • To strengthen and implement strategies, regulatory framework, standards, institutional structures and infrastructure for quality assurance and increased quantities of agricultural products to access and sustain local, regional and export markets
  • To design and implement sustainable capacity building programmes for stakeholders in the agricultural sector through training, re-tooling, infrastructure, provision of logistics and ICT
  • To develop strategies for sustainable food security
  • To develop appropriate agricultural technologies for improved agricultural production, productivity and value addition through research
  • To develop effective collaborative mechanisms with affiliated institutions and
  • To take lead and establish a system and institutional framework for agricultural data collection, analyses, storage and dissemination to stakeholders including Uganda Bureau of Statistics.

The Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries (MAAIF) is made up of four Directorates including the Directorate of Crop Resources, Directorate of Animal Resources, Directorate of Agricultural Extension Services and the Directorate of Fisheries Resources each with Departments, Divisions and Partnership Projects.

The Departments of the Ministry which do not fall directly in the above include the Department of Agricultural Planning and Development, the Human Resource Department, the Department of Finance and Administration and the Department of Agricultural Infrastructure, Mechanisation and Water for Agricultural Production.

The Ministry is also made up of seven Agencies including the National Agricultural Research Organisation (NARO), the National Agricultural Advisory Services (NAADS), Cotton Development Organisation (CDO), Dairy Development Authority (DDA), Uganda Coffee Development Authority (UCDA) and Coordinating Office for the Control of Trypanosomiasis in Uganda (COCTU) and the National Animal Genetic Resources Centre and Databank (NAGRC&DB).