Agriculture Cluster Development Project (ACDP) rolled out to more districts across Uganda

Entebbe, 12th August 2019 The Agriculture Cluster Development Project (ACDP) of the Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries supported by the World Bank has been rolled out to 19 more districts.

The project, which is implemented with the overall objective “To raise on-farm productivity, production, and marketable volumes of selected agricultural commodities (maize, beans, rice, cassava and coffee), in specified (12) geographical clusters was first piloted in 5 districts, namely Amuru, Kalungu, Iganga, Ntungamo and Nebbi.

Above: District representatives and project staff in a training session about project components made in Masaka district in preparation for the rollout.

The rollout districts include Masaka, Mpigi, Rakai, Bugiri, Namutumba, Nwoya, Gulu, Kabaale, Bushenyi, Isingiro, Maracha, Arua, Yumbe, Kyotera, Bugweri, Omoro, Bunyangabu, Rukiga, Rubanda and Pakwach.

Rolling out the e-voucher system

Through ACDP, registered farmers are also enabled to access critical farm inputs and equipment for post-harvest handling at subsidised costs met using an online system that links registered farmers to pre-qualified, certified agro-input dealers.

Through the subsidy programme of the Agriculture Cluster Development which is supported by the World Bank, farmers acquire inputs in a manner that allows them to utilise them effectively with commitment.

In the first season, the farmer contributes 33% of the cost of inputs and the 67% is provided by government. In the second season, the farmer contributes 50% which attracts a 50% contribution by government. In the third season, the farmer makes a 67% contribution while government contributes 33%.

By the fourth season, with training in best practices of agriculture and agribusiness enterprise management as well as enhanced access to markets, the farmer is expected to be in position to run a self-sustaining enterprise.

Above: Farmers in the Iganga District picking up subsidized inputs at a centre in Buyanga this week. To date, over 90,000 farmers have registered and been enrolled for the Agriculture Cluster Development Project. The agro-inputs include fertilisers, agro-chemicals and equipment for post-harvest handling such as tarpaulins.

Above: Recent photographic updates from the districts under the Agriculture Cluster Development Project. The increased number of farmers registering under ACDP that has almost doubled, is partly due to the increased mobilisation by the project team in collaboration with District Focal Persons equipped with comprehensive Information, Extension and Communications (IEC) materials about the e-voucher system, Financial Literacy as well as best practices of agronomy and general Agro-input use and management.

Rolling out Matching Grants for promotion of value addition and post-harvest handling

Above: The newly-instituted Grants Management Committee that was inaugurated by Ms Beatrice Byarugaba the Acting Director for Crop Resources on behalf of the Permanent Secretary.

Under the component for promoting Value Addition and Market Access the Agriculture Cluster Development Project project was designed to build the capacity of producer organizations and other value chain actors.

This is being done through strengthening the agribusiness capacities of Area-based Commodity Cooperative Enterprises or their equivalents and Apex organizations to engage in collective action and establish strong market linkages.

The other approach is strengthening the institutional capacities of Area-based Commodity Cooperative Enterprises or their equivalents and lower level farmer groups (including business and business plans development) with support from component one and two.

The Matching Grants were put in place to support competitive groups to benefit from these after being selected by the Matching Grants Committee.

Notes to editors

About the Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries (MAAIF)

The Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries is a Ministry in the Government of Uganda charged with creating an enabling environment in the Agricultural Sector.

The Ministry formulates, reviews and implement national policies, plans, strategies, regulations and standards and enforce laws, regulations and standards along the value chain of crops, livestock and fisheries.

Vision: A competitive, profitable and sustainable agricultural sector.

Mission: To transform subsistence farming to commercial agriculture.

Strategic Objectives

  • To initiate the formulation and review of the policy and legal framework for the sector
  • To establish and implement systems for service provision in the sector
  • To strengthen and implement strategies, regulatory framework, standards, institutional structures and infrastructure for quality assurance and increased quantities of agricultural products to access and sustain local, regional and export markets
  • To design and implement sustainable capacity building programmes for stakeholders in the agricultural sector through training, re-tooling, infrastructure, provision of logistics and ICT
  • To develop strategies for sustainable food security
  • To develop appropriate agricultural technologies for improved agricultural production, productivity and value addition through research
  • To develop effective collaborative mechanisms with affiliated institutions and
  • To take lead and establish a system and institutional framework for agricultural data collection, analyses, storage and dissemination to stakeholders including Uganda Bureau of Statistics.

The Ministry of Agriculture, Animal Industry and Fisheries (MAAIF) is made up of four Directorates including the Directorate of Crop Resources, Directorate of Animal Resources, Directorate of Agricultural Extension Services and the Directorate of Fisheries Resources each with Departments, Divisions and Partnership Projects.

The Departments of the Ministry which do not fall directly in the above include the Department of Agricultural Planning and Development, the Human Resource Department, the Department of Finance and Administration and the Department of Agricultural Infrastructure, Mechanisation and Water for Agricultural Production.

The Ministry is also made up of seven Agencies including the National Agricultural Research Organisation (NARO), the National Agricultural Advisory Services (NAADS), Cotton Development Organisation (CDO), Dairy Development Authority (DDA), Uganda Coffee Development Authority (UCDA) and Coordinating Office for the Control of Trypanosomiasis in Uganda (COCTU) and the National Animal Genetic Resources Centre and Databank (NAGRC&DB).

About the Agriculture Cluster Development Project (ACDP)

Follow the link below to read more about the project and the components thereof: